Water Contaminants

Does your water contain lead, arsenic or other invisible contaminants?

WATER CONTAMINANTS 101

Some of the most dangerous water contaminants have no taste, smell or appearance. Others are more obvious, rendering your water unpleasant to drink, or use for cooking and bathing. Learn more about common water contaminants and contact your local Culligan Man for testing and water treatment options.

Arsenic
Arsenic enters the water supply through its natural presence in bedrock, or as an industrial byproduct. The most concerning health risk posed by arsenic is low-level, long-term exposure via drinking water, and as a result, the possibility of increased occurrences of cancer and other health problems.
Chlorine Taste/Smell
The taste and smell of chlorine are unappealing and can also dry out your skin and hair. While municipalities use chlorine to disinfect the water supply, it should be filtered out before you use it to eliminate harmful/annoying effects.
Cloudy/Milky Water
Raw water comes into your home with any number of impurities that can cause turbidity. Tiny particles of clay can hang in suspension, giving the water an unpleasing cloudy appearance or cause your water to have a milky color.
Lead
Lead seeps into the water supply from the lead pipes, solder and fixtures used extensively across the United States. There is no safe level of lead exposure, especially for children, who can suffer harmful and potentially chronic effects ranging from stomach pain to brain damage.
Magnesium
Magnesium is a mineral that enters water when rain soaks into the ground, running through sand, soil, and rock. The presence of magnesium creates hard water. Although this is not a direct health hazard, magnesium in water can cause buildup in pipes, shortened life spans for your appliances, increased soap and detergent use, dry skin, dull hair, and spotted dishes.
Nitrates
Nitrates are essential for food, flowers and greener lawns, which makes them a major ingredient in most fertilizers. Although nitrates are naturally occurring in soil, overuse of fertilizer is the largest cause of contamination. Nitrates spread on lawns and fields can move quickly through soil and grow more concentrated in groundwater, creating potential health risks for everyone, especially infants and pregnant women.
PFOA/PFOS
PFOA and PFOS are artificial chemicals that were widely used in the manufacturing of industrial and consumer products until the year 2000. Prior to phasing them out of production, PFOA and PFOS were released into the environment and contaminated drinking water supplies, especially near manufacturing sites. The presence of these chemicals in drinking water may result in health issues including developmental effects, cancer, liver damage, immune disorders and thyroid imbalance.
Radon
Radon is a colorless, odorless, tasteless gas that exists due to the radioactive decay of uranium, a common element in our bedrock that can cause cancer. Radon gas dissolves into groundwater and then is released into the air when a faucet is turned on in your home or office.
Learn more about how you can have better water.

Latest Blog Posts

What Clients Say
Friendly staff
Culligan Customer
Prince Adarkwah
- Culligan Customer
Edit Domain
id 274
domain culliganmn.com
name Culligan of Southern Minnesota
logo
type local
theme local
country US
status staging
facebook_link
twitter_link
youtube_link
instagram_link
blog_link
bill_pay_link https://www.culliganmn.com/services/online-bill-pay
bill_pay_text View or Pay Bill
location_pages ["774", "920", "955", "982", "1001", "1213", "1307", "1308"]
locations_in_navigation 1
google_api_key
google_analytics_id UA-208234982-1
google_optimize_container_id OPT-TM838BC
google_site_verification
cities ["Mankato MN", "Fairmont MN", "Jackson MN", "Madelia MN", "Redwood Falls MN", "Marshall MN", "Slayton MN", "Tracy MN", "Amboy MN", "East Chain MN"]
states ["Minnesota"]
regions ["southern Minnesota"]
keywords ["Culligan", "Culligan water filters", "Culligan water softeners", "Culligan reverse osmosis systems", "Culligan bottled water"]
emails []
forced_dealer_id
tracking_phone
integrations {"site_id": "1"}
ad_roll 0
dialogtech_sourcetrak_enabled 1
form_customization {}
meta []
notes []
created_at 2021-09-17 17:00:37
updated_at 2022-04-29 19:26:49
deleted_at
Edit Page
id 259
name Water Contaminants
link water-contaminants-101
full_link /water-problems/water-contaminants-101
external_link
target
parent_id 2
original_id
sort_weight 0
status published
type navigation
template single-column-with-sidebar
title Water Contaminants
subtitle Does your water contain lead, arsenic or other invisible contaminants?
featured_image
icon
exclude_from_sitemap 0
components ["blogs", "call-to-action", "sidebar-siblings", "sidebar-water-problems", "splash", "testimonials"]
product_interest
meta {"brief":"Whether you're battling arsenic, lead, nitrates, PFOAs or other dangerous contaminants, <a href=\"\/contact-your-water-expert\" class=\"text-blue-500 hover:underline\">your local Culligan Man&trade;<\/a> has a safe solution for your water.","title":"Water Problems: Arsenic, Chlorine, Cloudy Water, Lead, Magnesium, Nitrates | Culligan","keywords":null,"description":"Culligan has answers to help you with your water problems. Our experts are happy to test your water."}
created_at 2021-03-22 20:17:43
updated_at 2022-04-27 18:01:24
deleted_at
ID Title Link Parent Original Weight
1 Home Page / 0
2 Common Water Problems /water-problems 3000
3 Hard Water /water-problems/hard-water 2 10
4 Bad Tasting Water /water-problems/bad-tasting-water 2 30
5 High Iron Water /water-problems/high-iron-water 2 40
6 Acid Water /water-problems/acid-water 2 50
7 About Culligan /about 5000
8 Timer Settings & Manuals /help-guides/timer-settings-manuals 15 40
9 Culligan<sup>® </sup>Commercial & Industrial /culligan-products/industrial-commercial-water-treatment 31 999
11 Contact Your Culligan Man /contact-your-water-expert 6000
12 Culligan History /about/culligan-history 7 20
14 Culligan Services /services 2000
15 Help Guide /help-guides 4000
16 Answers to Common Water Questions /help-guides/water-faqs 15 10
17 Water Terms /help-guides/water-terms 15 20
18 Free Water Test /services/free-water-test 14 30
19 Water Quality Standards /help-guides/water-quality-standards 15 30
22 Smelly Water /water-problems/smelly-water 2 20
25 Service & Repair /services/culligan-service-repairs 14 50
26 Culligan Coupons & Special Promotions /services/culligan-coupons-specials 14 900
27 Culligan<sup>®</sup> Water Softeners /culligan-products/culligan-water-softeners 31 10
30 Search Results /search 0
31 Culligan Products /culligan-products 1000
33 Culligan<sup>®</sup> Whole Home Systems /culligan-products/culligan-whole-home-systems 31 30
34 Culligan<sup>®</sup> Reverse Osmosis Drinking Water Systems /culligan-products/culligan-reverse-osmosis-drinking-water-systems 31 40
35 Culligan<sup>®</sup> Bottleless Coolers /culligan-products/culligan-bottleless-coolers 31 50
36 Culligan<sup>®</sup> Bottled Water Coolers /culligan-products/culligan-bottled-water-coolers 31 60
37 Culligan<sup>®</sup> Bottled Water /culligan-products/culligan-bottled-water 31 70
39 Water and Salt Delivery /services/culligan-water-delivery 14 60
43 Your Local Culligan Dealer Results /dealer-locator 0
46 Privacy Policy /privacy-policy 0
80 Softener Bypass Videos /help-guides/bypass-videos 15 50
85 Customer Satisfaction Surveys /services/customer-satisfaction-surveys 14 80
183 Sitemap /site-structure 0
191 Hydration Calculator /help-guides/hydration-calculator-water-products 15 1000
255 Well Water Testing /services/well-water-testing 14 31
256 Culligan ClearLink PRO™ /clearlink-pro 0
259 Water Contaminants /water-problems/water-contaminants-101 2 0
261 Bottled Water Green Alternatives /bottled-water-green-alternatives 0
280 You don’t have to live with water problems. /solutions 0
295 Culligan Connect App /culligan-connect-app 0
305 Why Choose Culligan? /about/why-choose-culligan 7 30
367 Culligan COVID-19 Update /covid-19-update 0
443 Apply Online /about/careers/apply-online 45 0
591 Salt Delivery Sale /salt-sale 424 0
1333 Culligan<sup>®</sup> Water Filters /culligan-products/culligan-water-filters 31 32 20
1435 Culligan Connected Home /services/culligan-connected-home 14 379 2900
1446 Emergency Service /services/emergency-services 14 125 600
1649 Careers /about/careers 7 45 60
1650 Pay Bill Online /view-or-pay-bill 437 0
1651 Product Delivery Survey /product-delivery-survey 84 100
1652 Service and Repair Survey /service-repair-survey 83 80
1653 Locations /locations 272 5001
1657 Culligan® Portable Water Softener Exchange Service /culligan-products/portable-exchange-service 31 271 15
1679 Pay Online /services/online-bill-pay 14 58 999
1739 Chloride Reduction /services/chloride-reduction 14 228 70
2041 Accessibility Statement /accessibility-statement 0
9999774 /locations/redwood-falls-mn/774 272 15
9999920 /locations/fairmont-mn/920 272 10
9999955 /locations/jackson-mn/955 272 11
9999982 /locations/mankato-mn/982 272 13
99991001 /locations/slayton-mn/1001 272 16
99991213 /locations/tracy-mn/1213 272 17
99991307 /locations/madelia-mn/1307 272 12
99991308 /locations/marshall-mn/1308 272 14
ID Name Location Corp ID Actions
774 Culligan of Redwood Falls Redwood Falls, MN 22520
920 Culligan of Fairmont Fairmont, MN 22220
955 Culligan of Jackson Jackson, MN 22320
982 Culligan of Mankato Mankato, MN 22380
1001 Culligan of Slayton Slayton, MN 22577
1213 Culligan of Tracy Tracy, MN 22680
1307 Culligan of Madelia Madelia, MN 22610
1308 Culligan of Marshall Marshall, MN 22588
No Promotion Data
No Paid Search Data
259: single-column-with-sidebar